Hayato Sonoda wins the Okinawa marathon men’s race, Karen Kinjo wins the women’s race

Hayato Sonoda wins the Okinawa marathon men’s race, Karen Kinjo wins the women’s race

Hayato Sonoda (left) and Karen Kinjo (right) crossing the finish line at Tapic Kenso Hiyagon Stadium in Okinawa City February 16

February 16, 2020 Ryukyu Shimpo Digital Edition

Chubu – The 28th 2020 Okinawa Marathon (co-hosted by Chubu Large Area Municipal Corp, the Ryukyu Shimpo Co. Ltd., Okinawa Television, the Japan Association of Athletics Federations (JAAF) Okinawa, and the Okinawa Comprehensive Athletic Park management joint venture TrusTec and Mizuno) was held February 16, starting and finishing at the Okinawa Comprehensive Athletic Park.

The event was sponsored by Aeon Mall Okinawa Rycom, Daiichi Life Insurance, Orion Beer, Okinawa Bank, Japan Transocean Air Co. Ltd., and Okinawa Coco Cola Bottling. The men’s race was won by Hayato Sonoda (Krosaki Harima Corporation) with a time of 2:21:41.

The women’s race was won by Karen Kinjo (Chukyo Gakuin University) with a time of 2:50:39.

In other races at the event, the men’s 10km was won by Yuta Hokama with a time of 31:34, while Ruka Hasegawa took the top spot for the women with a time of 40:51.

The high school 10km was won by Ryuto Uehara (Hokuzan High School) at 32:26 for the men, and by Nanami Sekiguchi (Hokuzan High School) at 38:24 for the women.

The runners set off together at the sound of the starting gun at 9:00 a.m., running through the Chubu streets through a rain shower.

Local spectators and volunteers lined the route shouting their support, urging the runners on.

At the opening ceremony, Okinawa City mayor Sachio Kuwae, who also served as the chair of the race’s executive committee, encouraged runners in his greeting with, “I want you all to show the results of your daily training.”

There were 9,932 people who completed the official JAAF marathon course (in limited time from 9:00 a.m. – 3:15 p.m.), and 2,389 people who completed the 10km course (similarly limited from 9:40 a.m. – 11:00 a.m.), for a total of 12,321 runners.

(English translation by T&CT and Sam Grieb)

Go To Japanese


Previous Article:
Next Article:

[Similar Articles]